Window on the World: The Rivers of New Brunswick
The Governor's House, Fredericton, New Brunswick
William Henry Bartlett (1809-1854)
About 1842, 19th century
12.5 x 18.2 cm
Gift of John Clarence Webster Canadiana Collection
This artefact belongs to: © New Brunswick Museum
Keys to History
One of the more famous travelers on the St. John River was His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales, the future King Edward VII. In the summer of 1860, while on a North American tour, the Prince and his entourage traveled on board the Forest Queen from Rothesay, just outside of Saint John, to Fredericton. The party arrived at Fredericton that evening. The next morning the Prince, accompanied by the son of the Lieutenant- Governor, went to the riverbank and spying a canoe, launched themselves for an early morning paddle. Since neither had any experience with canoe paddling, the danger of the canoe capsizing and harming the heir to the throne was quite real.
After much waving of arms, shouts and commands to return, the nonchalant adventurers reached the opposite shore and then turned around and paddled back, much to the relief of the royal officials.
The Governor's House, currently known as Old Government House, is the official residence of New Brunswick's Lieutenant-Governor.
W.H. Bartlett made four trips to Canada between 1836 and 1852; drawings from his early visits were published in London in 1842.
The mansion was built between 1826 and 1828 to replace an earlier residence that burned down in 1825.
This drawing of the Governor's House is by the noted British artist, William Henry Bartlett (1809-1854).