Use file > print in the menu bar to print this page.

This artefact belongs to: © New Brunswick Museum
Brooch (toy)
1862, 19th century
Metal and glass
2.7 x 3 cm
Gift of E. Portia MacKenzie, 1962 (Emma Carleton Jack Memorial Collection)
This artefact belongs to: © New Brunswick Museum

Keys to History:

This small sparkling doll's accessory exemplifies the modest jewellery of the mid-19th century. Originally set with fifteen brilliants of faceted glass, this small brooch would have been worn at the throat to fasten a collar or large cape. Originally, this brooch had a string of blue beads attached.


In some pieces of jewellery, the glass gems were backed with foil to increase their attractiveness.


Godey's Lady's Book, published in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, starting in 1855, featured articles on doll clothing and accessories.


This brooch is original to the doll Lady Blanche Paulet who wore it when the ambrotype of her was taken and when it still had its original blue beads.


Sheffield House, a fancy goods establishment located at Market Square in Saint John, New Brunswick, imported jewellery directly from the makers in England, France and Germany.

© Musée McCord Museum