VIEW-3015 | Ruins of old fort, Ste. Anne de Bellevue, QC, about 1895
Ruins of old fort, Ste. Anne de Bellevue, QC, about 1895
Wm. Notman & Son
About 1895, 19th century
Silver salts on glass - Gelatin dry plate process
20 x 25 cm
Purchase from Associated Screen News Ltd.
© McCord Museum
Keywords: Architecture (8646) , Military (334) , Photograph (77678)
Keys to History
This picture shows Fort Senneville in 1895, in the property landscaped by J. C. Abbott, near Sainte-Anne-Anne-de-Bellevue. After his death in 1893, his heirs put the property up for sale and presented the ruins as a picturesque feature. The property was purchased in 1898 by E. S. Clouston, director and manager of the Bank of Montreal. He, his family and his heirs devoted themselves to caring for these relics from the past and making them better known.