M984.306.1288.4 | The Canadian Pacific Railway: Sudbury Junction, to Algoma and Gold Mines
The Canadian Pacific Railway: Sudbury Junction, to Algoma and Gold Mines
1888, 19th century
Ink on newsprint - Wood engraving
39.4 x 29.4 cm
Gift of Mr. Colin McMichael
© McCord Museum
Keywords: Landscape (2230) , Print (10661)
Keys to History
Originally, Sudbury was merely a depot and railway junction on the Canadian Pacific line to the West. When company gangs laid the track in 1883, it was to provide access to land for settlers, including many French Canadians. The next year, a large number of copper deposits were discovered, and shortly after that, the drilling began. Not in Sudbury itself, which remained a railway and commercial town for the next 30 years, but in the surrounding area, in places like Copper Cliff. Copper was the first mineral to draw attention, and then it was realized that the ore also contained a similar amount of nickel. At the time few uses for nickel were known, but it did not take long to discover the possibilities.
The Canadian Pacific track and station are hard to make out on this drawing, because of the tree stumps and company buildings.
The main building in the middle of the picture looks rather like the first train station. But its distance from the track, across the hill to the left, indicates that the artist probably took liberties in composing the drawing.
When the first earth-moving gangs entered the region, in 1883, part of the forest was burned down; at least, that is what the government surveyor criss-crossing McKim Township reported.
It was one of the officials in charge of building the railway, James Worthington, who suggested naming the railway stop Sudbury, after his wife's birthplace in England.